Go Back   MTG Vault Forums > Magic: The Gathering > MTG Rulings & Questions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2012, 11:19 PM
NinjaGamer's Avatar
NinjaGamer NinjaGamer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 56
Default Rite of Replication + Illusions

I'm fiddling with a deck right now that has Phantasmal Image and Rite of Replication. I was wondering if targeting the Phantasmal Image with the Rite would give me my token(s) or not.

The creature that the Image would be copying in this case is a Reaper from the Abyss.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2012, 12:23 AM
efinmiller efinmiller is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 106
Default

Targeting Phantasmal Image with anything, including Rite of Replication, will trigger the ability "Whenever this creature becomes the target of a spell or ability, sacrifice it." That trigger will go on top of the stack and resolve, so when Rite tries to resolve it can't find it's target and is countered.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
illusion, replication, rite, sacrifice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2011, MTG Vault.